If you want a travel backpack with a padded laptop compartment, two bottle pockets, and a sleeve for an Away suitcase, the Away Large Featherlight Backpack covers those needs on paper. The published product information does not include capacity or independent test results, so weigh its listed dimensions and features against your packing needs.
Pros
- Lightweight for travel carry
- Padded laptop compartment
- Two large bottle pockets
- Machine-washable, water-repellent fabric
- Trolley sleeve for Away suitcases
Cons
- Trolley sleeve compatibility is specified for Away suitcases
The Best Travel Backpack by Use Case
For laptop carry and Away suitcase pairing: Away Large Featherlight Backpack
Verdict: Consider this backpack if you want a separate padded compartment for a laptop up to 16 inches, two exterior bottle pockets, and a trolley sleeve designed to fit over an Away suitcase handle. Its stated dimensions are 11.8 × 5.9 × 16.5 inches. The provided listing does not state volume, weight, or independent durability and comfort results.
Reasons to buy: The listed features include a zippered laptop sleeve, passport pocket, main-compartment zip pocket, front zip pocket, and two bottle pockets. The listing says each bottle pocket fits bottles up to 32 ounces. It describes the Featherlight fabric as water repellent, easy to wipe clean, and machine washable, and the shoulder straps as padded.
Reasons to avoid: The published information does not give a capacity in liters, empty weight, or fit guidance beyond the listed dimensions and laptop size. Water-repellent does not mean waterproof. Machine-washing instructions and care limits should be confirmed with Away before cleaning.
Skip it if: You need a verified packing volume, a stated empty weight, waterproof protection, or confirmed compatibility with a suitcase from another brand. The listing specifies a sleeve that slips onto Away suitcases, not universal suitcase compatibility.
What to Check Before Choosing a Travel Backpack
Compare dimensions and capacity separately. The listed 11.8 × 5.9 × 16.5-inch measurements describe external size, not usable packing volume. Since no volume is provided here, compare the bag’s dimensions with your available storage space and request a capacity figure if liters matter to your decision.
Match the laptop compartment to your device. Away’s listing says the padded compartment fits laptops up to 16 inches. Check your laptop’s actual dimensions and the manufacturer’s sizing guidance before buying; screen size alone does not confirm fit.
Think through bottle and pocket access. The listing specifies two exterior pockets for bottles up to 32 ounces, plus interior and exterior zip pockets. Bottle shape can affect fit, and the published details do not give pocket measurements. Consider what you need to reach quickly, such as a passport or sunglasses, and confirm pocket layout if exact placement matters.
Read fabric claims narrowly. Water-repellent fabric may help with light exposure, but the listing does not establish waterproofing or performance in prolonged rain. If weather protection is essential, confirm the bag’s limits and whether separate protection is recommended.
Check suitcase compatibility and care. The product description says the trolley sleeve slips onto any Away suitcase. It does not confirm fit on other luggage. The listing also describes the fabric as machine washable; check Away’s current care instructions before washing.
How We Compared
This review uses the published Amazon product title and feature description. Those materials support the stated dimensions, pocket details, laptop-size claim, fabric description, and intended Away suitcase pairing. They do not provide independent testing, a stated capacity or empty weight, or evidence of long-term performance. The listed warranty statement refers to Away suitcases and does not establish backpack coverage, so confirm applicable backpack terms directly with Away.
Practical Questions
How large is the Away Large Featherlight Backpack?
The published listing gives external dimensions of 11.8 × 5.9 × 16.5 inches. It does not state capacity in liters.
Does it fit a 16-inch laptop?
The product listing says its separate padded laptop compartment fits up to a 16-inch laptop. Check your device’s dimensions against Away’s fit guidance before ordering.
Is the backpack waterproof?
The published description calls the fabric water repellent, not waterproof. It does not specify a waterproof rating or protection in heavy rain.
Bottom Line
Consider the Away Large Featherlight Backpack if its listed dimensions, laptop compartment, bottle pockets, and Away suitcase sleeve match your routine. If you need a confirmed capacity, empty weight, waterproof rating, or cross-brand trolley-sleeve fit, get those details before choosing.